Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Memphis

Driver's age: 26-65
Sat 22/6
Sat 29/6
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Memphis

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Memphis

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.0 OkayBased on 75 reviews
Cleanliness
6.1
Comfort
6.4
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.1
Value for money
6.3

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
11
4
1
3
0
0
23
2.0
After booking the car, no car was available at the final time and I got charged for additional insurance while I was booking for the car and later couldnot get the car. Not a good experience at all.Reviewed 17 May 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
I was somewhat disappointed that my rental was not automatically extended when there was a power outage at the rental location which delayed me getting the rental and on the road. Subsequently (once I realized this), I had to call Avis to request an extension to which I received clack from the agent, not exactly the customer I am accustomed to from Avis.Reviewed 3 Apr 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Everything about this was great. Van was there and ready when we got there. People were very nice!Reviewed 24 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
Easy to reserve and pick up was smooth and straightforward.Reviewed 8 Dec 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Have more carsReviewed 21 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience in memphis airport - it was as easy as handing over my DL and heading down the elevator to collect the car.Reviewed 2 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:It was ok but they ran out of cars down town avis but i was compensated for atruck but every they were nice at the counter great hospitality kept at same price so things were goodReviewed 22 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Drop offCons:The car that I picked up in Memphis was filthy. It smelled and clearly hasn’t been cleaned, never mind sanitized and during a pandemic. I only noticed the extent of the dirty condition after my departure from the airport.Reviewed 26 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:It was a very easy car rental. As soon as I walked up to the Avis rental agent she asked for my last name, took my I'd and credit card and I signed the agreement via the terminal and I was able to quickly leave. The car was very clean and very comfortable. It drove very well. Plus it was a nice looking car. Also the agent was very friendly.Cons:They switched the type of car I had agreed to when I made the reservation. At first it was a Galant but they changed it to an eclipse although I liked the eclipse better. It was a small SUV. Since I had a one way they said the Galant wasnt available for a one way rental. I was surprised they held an extra $150.00 on my credit card in addition to the rental price until I brought the car back on time which I did. I don't remember seeing the hold fee at the time the reservation was made. After I returned the car I remember hearing the agent say it would take several days for the hold fee to drop off. The vehicle had these very dark smudges around the back. It was dimly lit in the garage where I took possession of the car. So when I drove out I stopped and took a video of the car and photos. I did this to make sure I was protected and that they would not claim that I had committed any damage that was on the car before I took possession. It appeared that at some point someone had black duck tape around the back because I could see where large pieces of tape had been peeled off but this thick sticky residue remained. It didnt bother me because the car still drove fine but I sent a photo to Avis Facebook messenger with my confirmation number to let them see it. Regular washing would not take that off. Maybe a special type of chemical could remove it. The car had been washed but the tape residue was still there and very noticeable. Last, I picked up the car at the Memphis International Airport. I should have been informed that I go the 1st floor, instead of the 2nd floor, to process the rental because the 2nd floor is only for people with an Avis Preferred account. After the paperwork is processed on the 1st floor, I then had to go to the 3rd floor where the vehicles were kept to get the car.Reviewed 13 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was super friendly!!Cons:More car options. The airport location was sold out due to spring break, so we had to Uber 30min away to rent a car.Reviewed 31 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:ABSOLUTELY NOTHINGCons:Staff was rude and disrespectful... Car was reserved and when I proceeded upstairs to retrieve someone was loading their luggage in it. Charges were added to the change in reservation that were not added downstairs on the original.Reviewed 16 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Ease of accessCons:Upon drop off there was no one around to explain what to do. Just made assumption we were to leave keys in car.Reviewed 4 Dec 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Memphis?

Address

2491 Winchester Rd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Wednesday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Thursday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30

Phone

+1 901 345 2847

Address

224 Madison

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:30
Tuesday07:30 - 17:30
Wednesday07:30 - 17:30
Thursday07:30 - 17:30
Friday07:30 - 17:30
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 527 1138

Address

2760 Germantown Parkway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 12:00
Tuesday08:00 - 12:00
Wednesday08:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:00
Friday08:00 - 12:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 937 1443

Address

1264 E Shelby Drive

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 398 1167

Address

939 Ridge Lake Blvd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 12:00
Tuesday08:00 - 12:00
Wednesday08:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:00
Friday08:00 - 12:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 761 5145

Good to know

Most popular location

2491 Winchester Rd

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Memphis

  • Memphis might not seem like that large of a city at first glance, but it actually stretches out over more than 300 square miles. The sheer size gives you a great reason to book Avis car rentals in Memphis when you take trips to the city. Consider renting either a compact or economy car so that you’ll be able to get around Memphis without spending too much money on gas.
  • Memphis doesn't even land in the top 50 when it comes to U.S. cities with the most traffic. But there are times when local highways like I-40 and I-55 will get backed up, especially during rush hour and special events. If you happen to be in Memphis during one of these times, it'll help to have a compact car or another small car from Avis Car Rentals. You'll give yourself a much better chance to beat the traffic in the area when you're behind the wheel of a small vehicle as opposed to a large SUV.
  • Avis is a company that takes customer service very seriously, so you shouldn’t be shy about taking full advantage of it. If you have any questions when you start to book Avis car rentals in Memphis, get in touch with Avis’s customer service team to ask for assistance. Someone will be more than happy to help you out. You will also quickly discover that Avis is often willing to set up returning customers with special deals.
  • Avis won’t ever make it a hassle to cancel an existing rental car reservation.  If you need to cancel a reservation you made after you booked an Avis car rental in Memphis, just give them a call and let them know about it. They’ll get things squared away without forcing you to pay unnecessary fees. You might also want to consider downloading the Avis app to your smartphone or another device to make it easier to cancel or even just modify an existing rental car reservation.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Memphis are around -25% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Memphis

  • Where can I pick up a rental car from Avis in Memphis?

    You’ll be happy to hear that you can pick up vehicles when you book Avis car rentals in Memphis from five different locations. But the best one would probably be the Avis at Memphis International Airport, which is located at 2491 Winchester Rd., especially if you’re planning to fly into the city. There are also easy-to-find options at 224 Madison Ave. in the Downtown Memphis area and at 2760 Germantown Parkway if you plan to be in the northeastern part of the city.

  • What are the best benefits of renting a car from Avis in Memphis?

    When you book Avis car rentals in Memphis, you may not be able to get the specific make and model you want, but Avis will go above and beyond to help you find a vehicle that’ll work for you. Since Avis makes customer service a top priority, a representative will always go the extra mile to ensure you’re able to end up in a rental car that suits your needs.

  • Where are the best places to park an Avis rental car in Memphis?

    If you’re planning to drive an Avis rental car to Downtown Memphis to check out all the sights and sounds in the area, metered street parking is available for just around $1.50 per hour. You can pay as little as 50 cents for this parking if you plan to make a short visit. There are also many garages and parking lots in the area that can provide you with the parking options you need. Street parking is more readily available in other parts of the city that are less congested.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Memphis?

    Economy (Chevrolet Spark or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Memphis.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Memphis?

    Avis has 5 hire locations in Memphis. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Memphis airport (MEM)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Memphis airport (MEM)?

    Yes