Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Madison

Driver's age: 26-65
Sun 30/6
Sun 7/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Madison

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Madison

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.8 OkayBased on 21 reviews
Cleanliness
6.9
Comfort
7.6
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.0
Value for money
6.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
1
0
1
0
0
5
2.0
I was refused service because the system didn't recognize my Real ID drivers license as valid. It's good enough to fly but not rent a car?!Reviewed 17 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I was denied my rental because both of my credit cards “did not have a UV watermark on it”. I have never heard of such a policy, and this was completely unclear to me prior to me booking the rental. I then asked my friend to pay for me because her card had this watermark, but was again denied since the card had to be in my name. So I thought I could book it in her name and add my license too it, but apparently, in order to add my license, they need to add my credit card as well, which, as described above, they apparently couldn’t take. So, I had no choice but to cancel my booking, call the third parter insurance provider to refund my policy plan, and now I am stuck in Madison, unable to return home for a fine print rule I never knew about. Or maybe I just don’t know how car rentals are supposed to work.Reviewed 17 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
I got the bait and switch that rental car companies are notorious for. I rented a medium size 'premium' car and got a Toyota Corolla... a long shot from a premium brand or mid-size car. Secondly, I thought I was renting from the Madison Airport location, but it was actually the service center, about 1/2 mile off the airport. No offer from Avis to fix it, or give me a ride, even in a dirty returned car, to the other site. Luckily the weather was nice and I was not in a hurry, so the walk was enjoyable.Reviewed 4 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendlyCons:Better signage about leaving car and walking in n.Reviewed 28 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:The staff at the counter were very pleasant and helpful.Cons:The car was in pretty poor condition. It had some dents and scratches, and if it had been cleaned the cleaning didn't show. Candidly, the car wasn't worth the high rental cost; I've had much nicer cars for a lower cost at other airports.Reviewed 26 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
LifesaverPros:Briana (I think it was Briana) at the Dane County Airport helped me quickly get into a great car after a disastrous experience with having a flight canceled without warning. I was in a hurry and on a tight budget. She was kind and helpful and got me a wonderful, reliable and comfy car, fast.Reviewed 19 Nov 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:We appreciated the call explaining Avis' request to switch our vehicle for your own purposes.Reviewed 27 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Cons:the "low tire pressure" light came on and the window washer did not work because it was frozenReviewed 7 Feb 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Terrible customer servicePros:Friendly but slow counter service.Cons:Slow process to complete pick up. I received no communication that the drop off point for my one-way rental was a satellite location with no official Avis presence, then was charged for a second day after they claimed it was returned late even though there was only a place to drop the keys, so they have no way of verifying my return time. When I called to dispute the additional late charges, the customer service was slow and unhelpful.Reviewed 5 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:Was not a ware I had to pick up off site...cost me too much time on a business trip.Reviewed 16 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:Constant attempts at up selling. They finally gave me a Kia from Budget that had a defective front seatReviewed 29 Dec 2015
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Madison?

Address

1136 East Washington Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 12:3014:00 - 17:30
Tuesday14:00 - 17:3007:30 - 12:30
Wednesday14:00 - 17:3007:30 - 12:30
Thursday07:30 - 12:3014:00 - 17:30
Friday14:00 - 17:3007:30 - 12:30
Saturday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 608 251 1717

Address

4000 International Lane

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:30 - 23:59
Sunday08:30 - 23:59

Phone

+1 608 242 0600

Address

2320 Darwin Road

Hours

Monday14:00 - 17:3008:00 - 23:59
Tuesday14:00 - 17:3008:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:5914:00 - 17:30
Thursday08:00 - 23:5914:00 - 17:30
Friday08:00 - 23:5914:00 - 17:30
Saturday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 608 242 0429

Good to know

Most popular location

4000 International Lane

Most popular car type

Full-size

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Madison

  • One prime reason that so many travelers book Avis car rentals in Madison is that they can explore this beautiful part of Wisconsin on their schedule. A compact car with good fuel efficiency and easy maneuverability in urban areas may be an excellent choice for solo travelers or couples. A sedan offers more space and amenities if you're traveling with a small family or group. For larger groups or families with extra luggage, an SUV, or minivan provides ample room and versatility, making it suitable for both city exploration and rural adventures. If you have specific hauling needs or plan to transport more oversized items, a truck could be a practical option.
  • The Avis Preferred loyalty program presents a range of advantages for individuals who book Avis car rentals in Madison. Members enjoy access to a preferred service counter, reducing wait times and ensuring priority service, which is particularly beneficial during peak travel periods. Avis Preferred members accumulate points with each qualifying rental, offering the opportunity to redeem points for free rental days, with rewards increasing the more frequently one rents with Avis.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Madison, understanding the cancellation policy is essential. In case of cancellation, a refund is processed within approximately seven business days and credited to the same card used for prepayment. It's important to note that a processing fee is applicable if canceling a prepaid reservation before the scheduled rental date. Refunds are only provided for the unused portion of the payment in case of an early vehicle return.
  • For those considering Avis car rentals in Madison, the availability of additional rental features is noteworthy. Avis offers GPS navigation devices to facilitate navigation in unfamiliar areas. Child car seats suitable for different age groups are also provided, ensuring the safety and comfort of young passengers. Avis offers various fuel service options, including the choice to prepay for a full tank or return the car without refueling. These additional options enhance the overall rental experience, catering to diverse travel needs.
  • Full-size car hire from Avis in Madison are around 69% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Madison

  • Where are some places I will find Avis locations in Madison?

    The city of Madison offers a variety of choices, one of which is sure to be convenient for you. Just to the northeast of the center of town, you will find a location at 1136 East Washington Avenue. Just a little bit farther north of that in the Warner Park neighborhood, you will find a location at 2320 Darwin Road. If you plan on arriving in the area on an airline flight, you can pick up your Avis rental at Madison Truax Field Airport (MSN).

  • What are some reasons to choose Avis in Madison?

    Avis is an internationally recognized car rental brand, providing a sense of reliability and convenience, especially if you plan to continue your travels beyond Madison. This is seen in a fleet of very well-maintained and reliable vehicles for rent in Madison. Avis is known for its commitment to customer service, ensuring a smooth rental process and promptly addressing any concerns or queries. The staff here has great tips to share with visitors about the Madison area.

  • Where should I park my rental in Madison?

    Madison has metered street parking in various areas, especially in the downtown and commercial districts. Meter rates may vary, but they are typically around $1.50 to $2.00 per hour. Pay attention to posted signs for time limits and payment requirements. Downtown Madison has several public parking lots and garages. Hourly rates in these facilities can range from $2.00 to $5.00 per hour. Some hotel lots offer valet services but at a much higher hourly rate.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Madison?

    Full-size (Ford Fusion or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Madison.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Madison?

    Avis has 3 hire locations in Madison. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Truax Field airport (MSN)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Truax Field airport (MSN)?

    Yes