kayak.com.my is also available in Malay. Lawat laman ini dalam Bahasa Melayu
Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Dublin

Driver's age: 26-65
Fri 28/6
Fri 5/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Dublin

EconomyRM 137/day
CompactRM 158/day
IntermediateRM 162/day
StandardRM 245/day
MiniRM 136/day
PremiumRM 585/day
Passenger vanRM 1,021/day
LuxuryRM 620/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Dublin

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.2 OkayBased on 44 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
6.7
Overall
6.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
5.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
6
0
1
1
0
10
6.0
Pros:Staff were very helpful at Avis but the insurance fees were outrageous and tripled the cost of the rental. That being said, I cannot commend them enough for how they handled our return of the car early due to COVID-19Cons:Quote insurance in advance and do a better job describing luggage space. We did not have enough space for 4 large pieces of luggage in this carReviewed 22 Mar 2020
review fromkayak
2.4
Pros:Extremely rude staff, particularly the woman working at the counter in Terminal 2 and the shuttle bus driver. Additional charges applied at time of collection which were not transparent during booking process. Car provided was much smaller than that advertised for the category. Slow pick-up/drop-offCons:Everything, would never rent from them againReviewed 9 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:Good vehicle, easy drop off.Cons:Expensive extras, ie insurance + additional driver. Took way too long to collect the vehicle in the first place - 45 minutes.Reviewed 30 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:The outside of the car was dirty, the transmission would easily slip into reverse (no down press, or button to engage). They were going to charge me for a dent in the hood, fortunately my wife had taken a picture of it when we picked up the car.Reviewed 11 May 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:the second car was very good. they helped us at the airport which was a better location. However, the agent that helped us was less than helpful. it needed to be clearer that if you didn't take their insurance they were going to put 7500 euros on your credit card. he was unwilling to provide options. In comparison we dealt with another company in glascow and they provided good alternatives with reasonable costs. A much better experience.Cons:The first car they gave us was old and not in good working order. we returned it and got a much better, newer car that worked well.Reviewed 27 Oct 2018
review fromkayak
9.2
Great, easy experiencePros:Mark was the BEST!! We were sold an insurance policy from a 3rd party that ended up being invalid in Ireland...we never would have known without Mark! He brought it to our attention, helped us confirm this fact with the 3rd party, and helped facilitate our refund with them. He then helped us get a a valid policy, and even upgraded our car to help ease our pain of the day ;) Would recommend!Cons:Dirty bathrooms with no toilet paper in men's OR women's bathrooms.Reviewed 21 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Friendly pick up staff at counterCons:Small size 7 passenger. I clicked on a Ford Galaxy and that is what I wanted but you confirmed an Opel Zafira. We call that Bait and Switch which is illegal in the USA. Very NOT happy with the size of the car and your deceptive business practice.Reviewed 21 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Unsatisfactory and unprofessionalCons:The woman at the Dublin Airport Avis booth quoted double the cost of online quote. The workers were unprofessional, not accommodating. I rented same car from Sixt Irish car rental for half the price. I will not use Avis!Reviewed 13 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
6.4
Not in terminalPros:Friendly staffCons:The car pickup was advertised as in terminal and it was not in the terminal. I picked this company because it was advertised as in terminal.Reviewed 26 Feb 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Efficient and Smooth. Very Happy.Pros:Process for returning the car was very efficient. Personnel were very friendly and helpful. Even though it was a very busy morning, things progressed smoothly with minimal wait.Reviewed 8 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:We showed up at the rental car office and our reservation was cancelled.Reviewed 3 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Car was nice but not large enoughPros:Car was comfortable and drove well.Cons:The car was shown as a 7 passenger car and the photo that accompanied the car on line was nothing like what we got. We had 7 golfers going for a trip in Ireland and rented what was shown as a relatively large van. When we got the vehicle, the only way to get 7 in the vehicle was to fold up some seats in the rear which left absolutely zero room for luggage, much less golf clubs. Further, we were on a relatively tight time frame and it took well over 30 minutes to get the car after check in. In short, we got something that wasn't what was portrayed and got it late.Reviewed 31 Jul 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Dublin?

Address

38 Old Kilmainham Rd

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Address

Arrivals Hall

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Address

149 Lower Drumcondra Road

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Phone

+353 1 912 3990

Address

39 Old Kilmainham Rd

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Good to know

Most popular location

Arrivals Hall

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Dublin

  • There are around three Avis branches in Dublin. One of the most convenient is at Dublin Airport (DUB); it’s great for those arriving in the city by plane. There are also two in the city centre, though, if this is more convenient. Whilst Dublin has a good transportation network, you will get more flexibility from a hire car, as you won’t have to wait on bus or train timetables. The airport Avis branch also has a larger selection of vehicles compared to those in the city and has positive reviews for customer service.
  • When you’re in Dublin, you will be able to park your car in a variety of places, most of which will charge an hourly fee. For example, you can park at Q-Park Grand Canal Square, in the centre of the city, which costs about € 5.50 (A$ 8.50) per hour. There are also lots of pay-and-display street parking spaces in Dublin. Most of these charge between the hours of 7:00 am and 7:00 pm from Monday to Saturday and between 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm on Sundays. Outside of these hours, it is generally free to park in these bays. Depending on which zone you are parked in, prices start from about € 0.80 (A$ 1.25) per hour.
  • You must follow the road laws when you are driving in Dublin. Everyone has to wear a seat belt, whilst kids under 150 cm or weighing less than 36 kg need to be in a booster seat. Mobile phones can only be used if they are hands free, and if an emergency vehicle has its sirens or lights on, you must give way. Drink driving is illegal and if you are found to be above the legal limit you’ll be prosecuted.
  • Avis offers the possibility of a one-way hire from Dublin, so you can return your vehicle to another branch or even a different city. There is usually a surcharge for this, which depends on the vehicle category, length of the hire period and where you’re returning the vehicle.
  • Book your car hire from Avis in Dublin at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Dublin are around 47% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Dublin

  • What documentation must I bring to book Avis hire cars in Dublin?

    When you get an Avis hire car in Dublin, you need to have the correct documents. For instance, you need a current driver’s licence and photo ID. You need to be able to prove you’re older than 25 to hire a vehicle and have had your licence for at least two years. Drivers that have a licence in a language that does not use the Roman alphabet must also bring an International Driver’s Permit with them. You can use most major debit and credit cards for your booking, but they must be in the main driver’s name.

  • What vehicles are available when I book Avis hire cars in Dublin?

    In Dublin, Avis has a great selection of cars that you can choose from. If you’re in a big group, then a passenger van is ideal, as it fits up to seven people. If you’re on business, you should go for a luxury vehicle, which will make you look and feel the part. If you’re just driving in the city, then a small and compact vehicle is beneficial, as you will be able to park in tighter spaces. You'll have a choice of small, medium and large sedans from this provider, and you'll also have the option of SUVs, passenger vans or luxury cars.

  • What are the speed limits when I get an Avis hire car in Dublin?

    When you book Avis hire cars in Dublin, you need to follow the speed limits. In Dublin and other Irish towns, the top speed is 50 km/h. On rural roads, the upper limit is 100 km/h, whereas on dual carriageways or motorways, you cannot go faster than 120 km/h. Both fixed and remote speed cameras are in operation in Ireland, so if you are caught speeding, you will be fined by law enforcement.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Dublin?

    Intermediate (Volkswagen T-Cross or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Dublin.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Dublin?

    Avis has 4 hire locations in Dublin. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Dublin airport (DUB)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Dublin airport (DUB)?

    Yes