Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Brooklyn

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 25/7
Thu 1/8
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 42%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Brooklyn

Economy car
Economy
M
Compact car
Compact
M
Intermediate car
Intermediate
M
Standard car
Standard
M
Full-size car
Full-size
M
Luxury car
Luxury
M
People carrier car
People carrier
M
Passenger van car
Passenger van
M
Commercial car
Commercial
M
Pick-up truck car
Pick-up truck
M

Reviews for Avis in Brooklyn

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.5 OkayBased on 58 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
6.9
Overall
6.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
0
11
8.0
GReviewed 30 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The car smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. I was in a hurry, and the attendant walked away after giving me the keys, so I didn't have time to find someone to see if I could exchange the car. However, the smell was so strong we had to drive with the windows down the entire 4 hour trip.Reviewed 9 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Jeremy was fantastic. He retrieved my car and helped orient me to it. Very friendly and professional.Reviewed 28 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:customer rep was very politeCons:they had to give me a malfunctioning carReviewed 2 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:The attendant who showed people to their cars was not very friendly.Cons:A positive and friendly attitude from the parking lot attendant would have been nice.Reviewed 15 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Clean, safe, no wait timeReviewed 4 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The price has suddenly doubled, days after the rental, with no explanation whatsoeverReviewed 22 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The car was clean and fine, the process of booking was relatively smooth.Cons:At pick-up, the woman behind the Avis counter told me she had 4 mini vans left in her fleet so i had no choice but to go with a mini van, even though I had specifically reserved a small car. After the agents brought my car from the garage, i noticed that the couple behind me got a large SUV. How was it possible they chose an SUV if all was left were minivans?? When the woman walked by as I was adjusting my seat, I asked her why this happened. She sort of stammered and said there were 3 mini vans left, and one large SUV. When I reminded her that she told me there were only 4 minivans left and that i specifically had no other choice, she stammered again that someone had specifically reserved a large SUV. This made no sense though, since I also reserved a car other than a minivan. I think I was justified in being irritated by this -- she had in essence lied to me about what was available. Another issue I encountered -- when signing up for the car, the woman told me that the vehicle had Bluetooth capabilities. When I got the car, there clearly was no bluetooth capability, and if there was, i wasn't able to locate it on the console even with her help. These issues combined really soured the start to my trip. I think it was wrong and discriminatory of the woman to decide that the couple behind me should somehow get an SUV after she misrepresented the facts to me so explicitly just a minute before. I appreciate if Kayak could pass this along to Avis.Reviewed 17 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Very easy pickup and dropoff. Not very crowded and the staff worked quickly and efficiently.Cons:I can’t think of anything!Reviewed 9 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:YesCons:PriceReviewed 10 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Wholesome experience! All in all great!Reviewed 7 Jun 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was very helpful and conscientious in these strange timesCons:Nothing -- it was easy!Reviewed 19 May 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Brooklyn?

Address

210 State Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday07:00 - 21:00
Thursday07:00 - 21:00
Friday07:00 - 21:00
Saturday07:00 - 21:00
Sunday07:00 - 21:00

Phone

+1 718 858 4395

Address

325 Kent Avenue

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday07:00 - 21:00
Thursday07:00 - 21:00
Friday07:00 - 21:00
Saturday07:00 - 21:00
Sunday07:00 - 21:00

Phone

+1 347 894 3688

Good to know

Most popular location

210 State Street

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Brooklyn

  • Whatever brings you to Brooklyn, booking a car rental with Avis is one of the best decisions you can make. Besides being a global leader in the car rental industry, Avis provides excellent customer service through its well-trained employees. Their highly-trained rental staff is always willing to go above and beyond to ensure your comfort. Furthermore, driving yourself allows you to visit fun spots and destinations both within and outside of Brooklyn at your own pace.
  • Consider renting a car with a convertible top when booking your Avis rental car in Brooklyn. Brooklyn, which is only a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean and Long Island, has scenic routes and a beautiful coastline that are best enjoyed in a convertible. There are, however, other options if you are traveling in a group and your travel party will not fit in a convertible. Avis offers a diverse fleet of vehicles ranging from luxury SUVs to minivans and even trucks.
  • Feel free to request any additional services you require when booking your Avis car rental in Brooklyn. Some of these additional features include child seats, GPS systems, added insurance, and even an extra driver. For example, if you are new to town and want to navigate the city like a local, the rental facility staff can assist you in installing and programming GPS systems. These services are designed to enhance your Avis car rental experience and ensure that you get the most out of it.
  • The best pick-up location for your rental car in Brooklyn is determined by where you are in the city. Fortunately, Avis has about six car rental locations in Brooklyn, including John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and LaGuardia Airport (LGA). If you are flying into either airport, the best place to pick up your rental car is at the airport's Avis rental shop. If you are traveling to Brooklyn by other means, the downtown rental locations are preferable because they are typically closer.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Brooklyn are around -23% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Brooklyn

  • What payment options are there when paying for toll roads in Brooklyn?

    When you book Avis car rentals in Brooklyn, you should be aware of only one toll road. The Hugh Carey Tunnel is the only place where you must pay a toll. It is important to note that there is no cash policy in place, and all tolls must be paid electronically via E- ZPass or Pay by Plate. On the other hand, Avis makes it easier for visitors who do not have E-ZPass by providing them with a car rental e-Toll. The toll charges will be billed to the rental company, who will then bill your credit or debit card 4-8 weeks later.

  • What is the cancelation policy for Avis car rentals in Brooklyn?

    The cancelation policies of Avis car rentals in Brooklyn vary depending on the type of reservation made. If you use the prepaid option and cancel your reservation less than 24h before the pick-up time, you will be charged a $50 processing fee. If you cancel your reservation less than 24 hours before your pick-up time, you will be charged a $150 processing fee. However, if you choose postpaid services, you will not be charged anything as payment is demanded when picking up the car. Postpaid customers are encouraged to cancel their reservations as soon as their plans change.

  • Why is it advisable to reserve a car in advance from Avis car rental in Brooklyn?

    There are numerous benefits to booking your rental car ahead of time before visiting Brooklyn. If you reserve a car ahead of time with Avis, be sure to find it when you arrive at the pick-up location. This means you won't be in a last-minute panic trying to reserve the vehicle of your choice, and you won't be charged any additional fees when you pick it up. In fact, booking your car rental with Avis saves you money because the company offers discounts of up to 35% Off Prepaid Car Rentals.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Brooklyn?

    Economy (Chevrolet Spark or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Brooklyn.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Brooklyn?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Brooklyn. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    Yes