kayak.com.my is also available in Malay. Lawat laman ini dalam Bahasa Melayu
Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Detroit

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 2/7
Tue 9/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Detroit

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating5.5 FairBased on 34 reviews
Cleanliness
6.7
Comfort
6.9
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.7
Value for money
5.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
0
0
2
1
0
10
2.0
Waited 2 hours in line during check in in order to get a car. Slowest system I’ve ever seen for car pick up. Can’t believe in 2024 this isn’t a kiosk or there isn’t a more efficient way to check in. I’m all for face to face business but in this case 2 people to check in 20+ people in 2 hours detracts from the customer experience.Reviewed 10 Apr 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I received an incorrect damage claim even after showing video proof of pre-existing damage after checking the car back in at destination. Had to go through Customer Service to fix this. Very annoying.Reviewed 22 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Still waiting to get deposit back.Reviewed 13 Feb 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Well, after making me wait in the 10° weather for over half an hour these people refused to rent a car to me because my ID had a piece of tape on it. I literally had to walk over a mile in the snow and got sick because of this. The manager was one of the rudest people I’ve ever dealt with in my life. Stay away from this place and rent from anywhere in the world but this place.Reviewed 27 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Will never use Avis again!Reviewed 10 Nov 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
GentReviewed 26 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
The staff were friendly but waited in line for an hour to pick up my rental.Reviewed 25 Sep 2023
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed 30 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed 25 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed 30 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed 29 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed 8 Feb 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Detroit?

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Detroit

  • When you choose Avis car rentals in Detroit, you will have a wide and varied selection to choose from in order to get the most out of your visit to this renowned city in Michigan. If you will be commuting a lot, you might want a smaller car, such as an intermediate sedan, to help you negotiate traffic. If you are traveling with a family, a minivan might be preferable. A premium or luxury sedan may be the best choice if you want to arrive to all of your destinations in refined style. For those who will be enjoying some of the many outdoor recreational opportunities of Michigan, you may prefer an SUV.
  • Signing up for the Avis rewards program Avis Preferred is free and replete with benefits you can start taking advantage of right away. As an Avis Preferred member, you can skip the line at the car rental counter and go directly to your vehicle. Also, when you rent Avis car rentals in Detroit, you can start accruing points toward future free rentals. Avis Preferred will make your car rental experience even better with Avis car rentals in Detroit.
  • Avis car rentals in Detroit can supply you with available add-ons in order to facilitate your travel needs. If you will be driving with small children, contact your Avis pick up agency in Detroit and let them know what size child safety seat you require so that they have what you need when you arrive to pick up your vehicle. You can also add on a GPS navigation device or Sirius XM Satellite Radio. Also, if you decide you want more protection for yourself and for your vehicle, you can add on extra insurance coverage at the rental car counter.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Detroit through KAYAK, you can choose the make and model of rental vehicle you want. On the KAYAK website, first you will choose the car category that you are interested in. Then, from a list of available vehicles, you can choose precisely the one you want. When you arrive at the Avis agency in Detroit, they should have your choice waiting for you. If they don't have exactly what you requested, Avis's staff members will do their best to find a comparable rental car.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Detroit are around 26% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Detroit

  • Where can I pick up Avis car rentals in Detroit?

    The one Avis location in Detroit is located in the rental car facility at the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Once you deplane and exit at arrivals, you can catch a courtesy shuttle from either terminal's Ground Transportation Center. The shuttle bus will take you to the car rental building on Lucas Drive on the airport grounds, where you can find the Avis car rental counter.

  • Can I arrange a one-way rental with Avis car rentals in Detroit?

    Yes. When you reserve Avis car rentals in Detroit through KAYAK, one of the first options you can select is a different drop-off location. So, whether you want to drop off your rental car in a different city in Michigan or in a different city elsewhere in the continental United States, Avis car rentals in Detroit can help you out.

  • Can I rent an electric or hybrid vehicle from Avis car rentals in Detroit?

    Since sustainability is an important goal of Avis car rentals in Detroit, they include both fully electric vehicles and hybrid vehicles within their fleets. When you book your reservation through KAYAK, check the boxes for hybrid and electric cars to see what vehicles are available on the dates that you will need to have a rental car. When you choose a hybrid or electric car from Avis car rentals in Detroit, you will be leaving a small carbon footprint in this Michigan city.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Detroit?

    Intermediate (Jeep Cherokee or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Detroit.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Detroit?

    Avis has 1 hire location in Detroit. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County airport (DTW)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County airport (DTW)?

    No (according to our data)