Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Albany

Driver's age: 26-65
Sun 30/6
Sun 7/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Albany

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Albany

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.1 OkayBased on 54 reviews
Cleanliness
6.6
Comfort
6.6
Overall
6.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.2
Value for money
5.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
3
0
2
1
0
11
2.0
I was lied to, overcharged, and spent many days on hold with the horrible customer service in Albany. I will never rent from Avis again.Reviewed 11 Nov 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Staff needs to clean the cars inside and out before renting. I went inside a vehicle and it wreaked of cigarette smoke. It was disgusting. Another vehicle wasn’t clean on the outside.Reviewed 17 May 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They did not honor the price that I reserved it for. I had to pay moreReviewed 1 Jan 2021
review fromkayak
2.4
Pros:Staff at counter was friendlyCons:--Staff at counter was unable to be reached by phone. Drove 3 1/2 hours each way (NYC --> Albany) to drop off old rental and pick up a new one, then was told at counter that I needn't have made the drive in the first place and I could've just kept the original rental. --Car smelled of cigarettes. Was told to just write down the issue on my rental agreement. --Staff at counter was unable to be reached by phone a second time (and I called over 20 times). This became an issue when I had to extend my new rental. --Toll-free customer service was completely useless when I contacted them to voice my concerns. --In a word, Avis = terrible. I've been an Enterprise customer for 12 years, and I'm kicking myself for using Avis this time.Reviewed 17 Jun 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:PriceCons:No ability to contact local agent, no store front or signage indicating pickup location, only a guy in a car with a sign. My rental was given away to someone else because I was late getting my car because I couldnt find the location, despite calling the national number they assured me everything was OKReviewed 15 May 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Staff was very friendly and helpful.Cons:We had a reservation but there wasn't a car available. We had one option. A 15 passenger van.Reviewed 29 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:staff fine at both locations I appreciate that they do not try to push me to take insuranceCons:car is far from office at pickup site and I had trouble finding the Albany officeReviewed 23 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Yes! The guy was great, upgraded us! We were there fir a funeral and had a 14 hour drive back so it was greatly appreciated.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed 21 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:The price was ridiculously expensive.Reviewed 26 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:There were no cars available when I arrived to the Avis counter. I was unable to rent a car despite having a reservation number. Unacceptable!Reviewed 17 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Cons:Car could have been cleaner.Reviewed 23 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:The inside of the car was dirty, looked like a spilled soda all over the center console.Reviewed 18 Mar 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Albany?

Address

737 Albany Shaker Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 518 242 4440

Address

131 Colonie Center

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 518 459 3179

Good to know

Most popular location

737 Albany Shaker Road

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Albany

  • Mini car hire from Avis in Albany are around -59% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Albany

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Albany?

    Mini (Chrysler Pacifica or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Albany.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Albany?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Albany. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Albany Intl airport (ALB)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Albany Intl airport (ALB)?

    Yes