Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Portland

Driver's age: 26-65
Mon 29/7
Mon 5/8
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 42%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Portland

Economy car
Economy
M
Compact car
Compact
M
Intermediate car
Intermediate
M
Standard car
Standard
M
Full-size car
Full-size
M
Luxury car
Luxury
M
People carrier car
People carrier
M
Passenger van car
Passenger van
M
Commercial car
Commercial
M
Pick-up truck car
Pick-up truck
M

Reviews for Avis in Portland

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.2 GoodBased on 141 reviews
Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.8
Overall
7.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.2
Value for money
7.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
16
8
1
5
2
0
17
2.0
Liked the type of car. Did NOT like the hours it took to get a satisfactory vehicle and get on our way. Seriously. Fifty or so customers standing on line for three, sometimes two Avis representatives. Avis staff upstairs where we picked up the car told us that’s the norm. After loading our luggage into the dirty, smoky vehicle, adjusting mirrors, setting up phone for GPS, etc., we noticed passenger window had. Large crack from top to bottom. Exchanged vehicle for yet another dirty, smoky vehicle, loaded, adjusted and found that dashboard display screen didn’t work. Exchanged vehicle yet again only to find the same issue with the third vehicle. Decided to suck it up and go anyway, after OVER nearly 2 HOURS.Reviewed 26 Jun 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
The customer service person was very friendly and helpful.Reviewed 19 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Not enough reps at the counter. Long wait in line. Reps were awesome!Reviewed 13 Nov 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Staff were inept. There is zero customer parking. Staff were rude. They refused to accept my ID. I was forced to Uber to a different Avis and make a new reservation at a higher rate.Reviewed 15 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Initial pickup of car was the only negative part of rental. Car was not clean on inside and outside. The was a notice of minor dent at rear of car..Performance of c@r was good. Personnel were good with pickup/return…Reviewed 12 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Maintenance light was on from the beginning. Questioned before we left and gal said Tacoma trucks have that issue. Ran fine but a little unsettling knowing some kind of maintenance was due.Reviewed 2 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Absolutely nothing. Worst rental experience of my life. Car was dirty upon pickup. Had to make a few changes to my itinerary and their customer service line was busy or disconnected. It automatically more than doubled my charges. When I left a poor review at Avis, I was contacted by a customer service manager who said he would credit me back $200...and after 3 follow up emails over the course of 2 weeks, he has not responded. Horrible companyCons:Absolutely everything. Terrible experience and will never rent from them againReviewed 28 May 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Drop off confusing if I wasn't experienced.Cons:1. Some one right there to check in the car or at least say they'd be right there. 2. Hot to open gas tanks written inside car. 3. How to change display back to mph instead of koh.Reviewed 14 May 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:My staff was super helpful and patient at helping a large family upgrade our vehicleReviewed 11 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Clean carCons:Have an employee at the place of rental pick up.Reviewed 11 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy pick up and drop-off, great car!Cons:More desk staff at pick up - it took longer than I'd hoped.Reviewed 22 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:It would be nice to have standard cab pickup trucksReviewed 20 Mar 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Portland?

Address

7240 Ne Airport Way

Hours

Monday00:00 - 01:0005:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 01:0005:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 01:0005:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 01:0005:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Sunday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00

Phone

+1 971 254 1643

Address

330 S.W. Washington Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 503 227 0220

Address

5720 Se 82nd Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 503 771 2426

Address

5856 Ne Columbia Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 503 249 6342

Address

1000 Ne Multnomah Street

Hours

Monday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday09:00 - 13:00
Wednesday09:00 - 13:00
Thursday09:00 - 13:00
Friday09:00 - 13:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 971 230 6080

Good to know

Most popular location

7240 Ne Airport Way

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Portland

  • Once you have made the choice to book Avis car rentals in Portland, your next step is going to be to decide what type of car is right for your needs. Compact cars are fuel-efficient and easy to maneuver, making them a practical choice for city exploration or when parking in tight spaces. Midsize cars offer a balance between space and fuel efficiency. If you're environmentally conscious or want to save on fuel costs, consider renting an electric or hybrid vehicle. Portland is known for its eco-friendly transportation options.
  • One reason that so many travelers choose to book Avis car rentals in Portland is access to their loyalty program called Avis Preferred. Avis Preferred members enjoy expedited rental check-in and check-out at participating locations. Avis Preferred members often receive priority service and may have access to exclusive lines or counters for quicker service. Accumulated Avis Preferred Points can be used to redeem free rental days, allowing you to enjoy cost savings on future rentals.
  • Travelers frequently wonder after they book Avis car rentals in Portland whether they can take the vehicle into Canada. You can generally take an Avis car rental from the United States, including Portland, into Canada. Inform Avis about your intention to travel to Canada when making your reservation. This allows them to prepare the necessary documentation and provide you with a car that meets Canadian entry requirements. Ensure you have all the required travel documents, including a valid passport and necessary visas.
  • Something that is good to know before you start driving after you book Avis car rentals in Portland is that Fridays tend to see heavier traffic in the afternoon as people head out of the city for the weekend. When there are major events, concerts, or sports games at venues like the Moda Center, Providence Park, or Oregon Convention Center, expect increased traffic in the vicinity before and after these events. Crossings of the Willamette River, such as the Marquam Bridge and the Morrison Bridge, can also experience congestion, especially during rush hours.
  • Compact car hire from Avis in Portland are around 17% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Portland

  • Where are some good places to get an Avis car rental in Portland?

    You have several choices of where to pick up your Avis car rental in Portland. Those in the downtown area will want to choose the location at 330 SW. Washington St. If you are in the southeastern part of the city, the location at 5720 SE. 82nd Ave. makes a fine choice. Finally, if you are in the northern Portland neighborhood, your best bet is going to be the location at 5856 NE Columbia Blvd.

  • What are some reasons to pick Avis over other companies in Portland?

    Avis frequently provides competitive rental rates and promotions, which can be budget-friendly for travelers, whether you're looking for short-term or long-term rentals. Some Avis locations may offer additional services such as GPS rental, child safety seats, and roadside assistance to ensure you have everything you need for a safe and comfortable trip. Avis often allows one-way rentals. This allows you to sit out on great Pacific Northwest road trips without worrying about returning the car to Portland.

  • Where are some of the best places to park my rental in Portland?

    Portland has on-street parking throughout the city. Look for parking meters or pay stations and follow posted time limits and fees. Monitor street signs for parking restrictions, as regulations can vary by neighborhood. Costs are usually bout $2.20 to park for 1 hour. Numerous parking garages are available in downtown Portland and commercial areas. These garages frequently provide both short-term and long-term parking options. Costs range from about $6.00 to $12.00 to park here for 2 hours.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Portland?

    Compact (Nissan Juke or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Portland.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Portland?

    Avis has 5 hire locations in Portland. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Portland airport (PDX)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Portland airport (PDX)?

    Yes