Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Norfolk

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 27/6
Thu 4/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Norfolk

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Norfolk

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating5.9 FairBased on 52 reviews
Cleanliness
6.1
Comfort
6.6
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
5.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
1
1
2
0
0
15
8.0
Service was great.Reviewed 8 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
If they don't have cars, they shouldn't take reservations. When I arrived there was a list of people waiting to get a car for their "reservation." I was looking at 45 minutes just to find out IF they had a car for me. Will not be using Avis again ...Reviewed 16 Nov 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
I enjoyed my experience with Avis. Everything was explained to my satisfaction. No hidden cost. Would highly recommend this company.Reviewed 16 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Booked online, took a Lyft to the location. After 5 min, employee came out from the back and said there were no cars.Reviewed 8 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
It would be great that if the vehicle that was reserved was available,Reviewed 25 Sep 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Staff was rude and unhelpful Avis lost a customer for life.Reviewed 17 Apr 2023
review frommomondo-kyk-wl
2.0
The car was banged up and smelled like smoke when I picked it up and then as I was driving north to DC at night, had to turn back and drive about 20-30 miles to return the car for a new replacement because BOTH back tail lights were out. It would have never known except someone on the highway honked and flashed lights to get my attention to tell my my lights were out... which is very dangerous. When I went to replace the car, they were very kind and made it easy - which was appreciated since I had to backtrack to return the other car. However, the car the replaced it with ended up having some emergency warning signs about the automatic rear breaking system malfunctioning. I had to pull over to read the vehicle manual - but because I was in the middle of no where had to continue on until I got into DC and could return it. Not a good experience at all.Reviewed 10 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Everything about the rental from start to finish was great. Everyone was polite and helpful.Cons:Explain the $200 hold until car is returned. No one said anything about it and I did t see it in my information.Reviewed 29 May 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The staff did their basic job but we were charged for gas and brought it in with a full tank.Cons:The above definitely and also the car was received in terrible condition.Reviewed 30 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Car was cheapCons:Pick-up was stressful, understaffed, and abrasive. Car smelled like smoke the whole time.Reviewed 12 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:I like how easy is to return the vehicle.Cons:I didn't get the car I asked for and the vehicle I got was given had dirty handprints on the overhead where the sun-cover is, on both sides also the vehicle was damaged on the passenger side door.Reviewed 9 Jan 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The original priceCons:Honoring my reservationReviewed 19 Aug 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Norfolk?

Address

2200 Norview Avenue

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:59
Tuesday06:30 - 23:59
Wednesday06:30 - 23:59
Thursday06:30 - 23:59
Friday06:30 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 757 855 1945

Address

1700 Norview Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 757 857 0106

Good to know

Most popular location

2200 Norview Avenue

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Norfolk

  • Norfolk, VA sits right on the Chesapeake Bay waterfront, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise to hear that it has turned into a hot spot for tourism over the years. People come from throughout the state and the East Coast as a whole to visit Norfolk for its beaches as well as its other sites, like the Virginia Zoo. The streets in Norfolk can get congested because of this, which means you might want to consider renting a small car when you book Avis car rentals in Norfolk. It’ll make it easy for you to get out of traffic if you get stuck in it during your time in the city.
  • Norfolk is within driving distance of a few other cities you might want to visit while you’re in town. For example, it’s only about 20 minutes from Virginia Beach. It’s also only about an hour from Richmond, and it’s even just 3 hours from Washington, D.C. If you plan to visit any of Norfolk’s neighboring cities, you might want to check with Avis to see which fuel-friendly rental cars they have available. It’ll make it more affordable for you to travel around in the Norfolk area.
  • Since there is always so much going on in Norfolk and so many people driving around on its streets, getting lost in an Avis rental car might be inevitable. You can, however, make it possible for you to find your way around in Norfolk by having Avis provide you with a GPS in your rental car. You’ll have to pay a small fee for an add-on like this, but it’ll be worth it once you see how much time you’ll be able to save as you drive through Norfolk.
  • If you’re unsure of whether you’ll need to book Avis car rentals in Norfolk, it won’t hurt to do it now and cancel a reservation later. Avis has a great cancellation policy that will allow you to cancel any reservation that you make without paying a penalty as long as you do it a few days before your arrival in Norfolk. It would be better to take this approach than to scramble at the last minute to try to find a rental car from Avis.
  • Compact car hire from Avis in Norfolk are around 60% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Norfolk

  • Where can I go to pick up an Avis car rental in Norfolk?

    Picking up a rental car in Norfolk will be easy thanks to the two convenient Avis locations that are in town. When you book Avis car rentals in Norfolk, you will be able to retrieve a rental from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF) at 2200 Norview Avenue. There is also another location nearby at 1700 Norview Avenue for those who would like to skip the lines at the airport.

  • What benefits will I enjoy while renting a car from Avis in Norfolk?

    Renting a car from Avis in Norfolk will provide you with a long list of benefits. You’ll be able to make the most of them by signing up to become an Avis Preferred member. When you do this, you’ll be able to pick up and drop off rental cars from Avis without having to worry about waiting in lines. You’ll also get other perks like discounts on rental cars through this program.

  • What is the parking situation going to be like for an Avis rental car in Norfolk?

    Parking in the downtown part of Norfolk can be tricky at times, especially during business hours throughout the week. But there are various parking garages in Norfolk that will provide you with places to put a rental car from Avis. The Waterside Garage, the Town Point Garage, and the Main Street Garage are just a few options to consider.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Norfolk?

    Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Norfolk.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Norfolk?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Norfolk. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Norfolk airport (ORF)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Norfolk airport (ORF)?

    Yes