Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Lisbon

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 30/7
Tue 6/8
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 42%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Lisbon

Economy car
Economy
M
Compact car
Compact
M
Intermediate car
Intermediate
M
Standard car
Standard
M
Full-size car
Full-size
M
Luxury car
Luxury
M
People carrier car
People carrier
M
Passenger van car
Passenger van
M
Commercial car
Commercial
M
Pick-up truck car
Pick-up truck
M

Reviews for Avis in Lisbon

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating5.7 FairBased on 19 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.1
Overall
5.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
5.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
0
0
1
0
0
4
4.0
The pick-up and drop-off staff in Lisbon and Porto were lovely. The car had a manual transmission, which was fine, but for some reason the cruise control was disabled or not optioned at order for this vehicle, so we had no cruise control for our 2 week road trip around Portugal. This made the drives a lot more tiring and not as fun.Reviewed 18 Jul 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Excellent service, highly recommendReviewed 29 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
Had to pay 40€ extra for basic insurance coverage.Reviewed 28 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Didnt go ahead with purchase, Avis staff was rude and tried to charge us £200 extra without telling us, on top of this he charged us almost 3 times the amount shown on your websiteReviewed 20 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:There was a 2+ hour line to pick-up my pre-booked car. Unacceptable. I ended up going to Hertz.Reviewed 4 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:I waited 2 hours at the counter waiting for my turn to process my previously made reservation and pick up my car until I finally could not wait any longer (hungry, thirsty, and tired after a long flight) and had to call a relative to pick me up at the airport.Cons:More staff, better customer service, at least a waiting lounge with snacks and water. Or get out of the business and do something else.Reviewed 27 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Staff was great. Difficult to find drop off, as the GPS sent me to a different place. After going around in a circle twice, finally just drove to the terminal and looked for a "rental car" sign. Suggest that all rented GPS have the proper drop off point in the future.Cons:The van advertised said it was big enough for 7 people and their luggage. The van at pickup was fine to seat 7 people, but had almost zero room for luggage. Had to go up a class, and it was nearly twice the price. Wish I had know this upfront.Reviewed 4 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Last minute, booked 1 hour before collecting. Great value for the model/size.Cons:Felt a little pressured in buying the waiver. rental went from €26 to €67 in the endReviewed 15 Nov 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:Long waiting line to pick up Hidden charges 3€ per day for automatic toll? Just give a heads up when booking! Long waiting at handing in the car More scratches on the car than was Notes by AvisReviewed 9 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
2.8
Worst car rental experience everPros:NothingCons:Individual who processed my car return was curt and rude. No one was around when we arrived so I chose a lane for the car and parked. As we were about to unload an attendant ran up and said we had to move over. The area was incredibly cramped and small as is, and I had barely enough clearance to move the car into the lane he wanted me to be in. So I started moving the car carefully, and even though I had enough clearance on either side, he started yelling at me about how to move the car and seemed frustrated that I wasn’t moving more quickly. Since he clearly had strong opinions on my driving skills, I asked if he could move the car instead. He said "No" at first and continued yelling at me for how to maneuver the car. He only obliged after I stopped moving the car, and even so, he continued barking orders at me like unlocking the car more quickly and even criticized HOW I unlocked the car (I used the door handle and he scoffed saying I should push the "unlock" button instead) Mind you there wasn't a mad rush or anything...no one else was there...things weren't crazy and he was just overwhelmed with work. Absolutely NO excuse for his behaviorReviewed 1 May 2018
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Staff were courteous and efficientCons:The facilities (underground) were dark and cramped, did not rise to the level of the staffReviewed 1 May 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Awesome quality for the price paidPros:We booked in the last minute and the cost turned out to be lower than taking a cab to and from the airport and all thw public transport for the day. Definitely worth it for Lisbon.Reviewed 15 Jan 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Lisbon?

Address

Hotel Mundial

Hours

Monday14:30 - 18:3009:00 - 13:00
Tuesday09:00 - 13:0014:30 - 18:30
Wednesday09:00 - 13:0014:30 - 18:30
Thursday14:30 - 18:3009:00 - 13:00
Friday14:30 - 18:3009:00 - 13:00

Phone

+351 21 317 4231

Address

Aeroporto Portela Lisboa

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:00 - 23:59
Wednesday06:00 - 23:59
Thursday06:00 - 23:59
Friday06:00 - 23:59
Saturday06:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:59

Phone

+351 21 843 5550

Address

Rua Castilho 167 E

Hours

Monday08:00 - 12:3014:30 - 18:30
Tuesday08:00 - 12:3014:30 - 18:30
Wednesday08:00 - 12:3014:30 - 18:30
Thursday08:00 - 12:3014:30 - 18:30
Friday14:30 - 18:3008:00 - 12:30
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+351 21 351 4560

Address

Gare Do Oriente

Hours

Monday14:30 - 18:3008:30 - 13:00
Tuesday08:30 - 13:0014:30 - 18:30
Wednesday14:30 - 18:3008:30 - 13:00
Thursday08:30 - 13:0014:30 - 18:30
Friday14:30 - 18:3008:30 - 13:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+351 21 895 3915

Address

Rua Castilho NR 167 E

Hours

Monday09:00 - 13:0015:00 - 19:00
Tuesday15:00 - 19:0009:00 - 13:00
Wednesday09:00 - 13:0015:00 - 19:00
Thursday15:00 - 19:0009:00 - 13:00
Friday15:00 - 19:0009:00 - 13:00
Saturday15:00 - 19:0009:00 - 13:00
Sunday15:00 - 19:0009:00 - 13:00

Phone

+351 213 868 547

Good to know

Most popular location

Aeroporto Portela Lisboa

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Lisbon

  • Avis car rentals in Lisbon offer a variety of vehicles in order to meet your independent travel needs. If you are traveling alone or as part of a couple, a smaller car, such as an economy or a compact car, will help you navigate the roads of Lisbon as well as save money on fuel. If you are traveling with a large group of friends, business colleagues, or relatives, you might want to opt for a passenger van. If you want to zip around this capital city in Portugal in style, you can opt for a mini or even for a luxury sedan. You also have the choice of a compact SUV or a compact station wagon.
  • When you decide to rent a car from Avis car rentals in Lisbon, you are making a good choice. Lisbon customers have praised Avis in reviews for the quality of the vehicles that they offer, particularly the comfort and cleanliness of the cars. Customers also appreciate the convenience of picking up and dropping off Avis rental cars. If you want to add peace of mind and value for your money to your Portugal adventure, choose Avis car rentals in Lisbon.
  • When you arrive at Avis rental car branches in Lisbon, make sure that you have the proper documents so that you can successfully collect your vehicle. You will need your US driver's license that has been valid for at least one year. And while you do not need an International Driving Permit (IDP) in order to collect the rental, this translation of your license can help avoid problems if you are stopped for any reason. You also need a valid credit card in your name and your ticket for return or onward travel. You also need your passport to show as a form of identification.
  • Travel plans can not only change in an instant, but they can also be delayed or derailed. For this reason, consider opting for an Avis car rental reservation through KAYAK that allows you to cancel your car rental reservation without being charged. Most of the deals that offer free cancellation require that you cancel your reservation at least 48 hours before the pick-up time indicated on your rental car reservation.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Lisbon are around 48% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Lisbon

  • Where can I pick up Avis car rentals in Lisbon?

    The most popular pick-up location for Avis rental cars in Lisbon is at the Humberto Delgado Airport (LIS). However, if you would rather pick up your Avis rental car at an agency in town, you have several to choose from. You can find two Avis car rental agencies just east of the airport, including one quite close to the beach. There's also another agency slightly southwest of the airport. You can find two more Avis agencies in the southwest corner of the city, one near Parque Floresto de Monsanto and the other near the beach.

  • What are the speed limits I will encounter while driving my Avis car rental in and around Lisbon?

    For those who rent Avis car rentals in Lisbon, keep in mind that speeds will be posted in kilometers per hour, as opposed to miles per hour. In downtown Lisbon, most streets have a speed limit of 50 km/h (31 mph). As you get into less densely populated areas of Lisbon, the speed limit increases to 90 km/h (55 mph) or 100 km/h (62 mph). When you are driving on the motorways that connect cities in Portugal, the speeds range from a minimum of 50 km/h (31 mph) to a maximum of 120 km/h (74 mph).

  • Where can I park my Avis rental car in Lisbon?

    Almost all parking in the downtown area of Lisbon is metered, and parking rates and time limits depend on the zone. Lisbon is separated into five different parking zones—green, yellow, red, brown, and black. Green is the least expensive parking zone with a time limit of 4 hours and black is the most expensive parking zone with a time limit of 2 hours. A green parking zone costs about €0.8 ($0.86) per hour and a black parking zone costs about €3 ($3.22) per hour. 

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Lisbon?

    Economy (Volkswagen Polo or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Lisbon.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Lisbon?

    Avis has 5 hire locations in Lisbon. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Humberto Delgado airport (LIS)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Humberto Delgado airport (LIS)?

    Yes