Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Minneapolis

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 27/6
Thu 4/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Minneapolis

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Minneapolis

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.1 GoodBased on 22 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.6
Overall
7.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
7.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
2
1
0
3
0
5
2.0
Terrible.Reviewed 24 Dec 2023
review fromkayak
7.9
Pro: The rental staff was very friendly and efficient. I was thankful they staff member was there an hour after the office closed as I didn't see anywhere on my reservation that the office closed at 5:00 PM on weekdays and I arrived about 5:30-5:45. I also discovered that if I missed picking it up that day, I would loose the rental sale price. Did I say the checkout staff was very kind and efficient? Con: see above. Please include information on the reservation details (hours) and what happens if your flight is delayed or rescheduled. Please include a copy of any prior noted damage when the car is picked up. I took pictures but was not sure the company was aware of prior damage until I returned the car. Since the office was closed right after I received the keys, I could only take pictures and hope for the best. I called about how to get to the offsite AVIS office and was told I could take a lightrail and walk two blocks. I got a ride and saw it was way more than two blocks and through an area that I was told was not safe. After returning the car to the offsite office, we took an Uber back to the airport (15 minutes).Reviewed 24 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Felix at downtown mpls avis was greatReviewed 16 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Totally adapted to our needsPros:They were able/willing to adjust our vehicle when the one we had reserved was not meeting our needs.Cons:Personnel were very value added.Reviewed 24 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Upgrade in car. Friendly staff.Cons:Car was not fully clean. Maybe because it was an upgrade and had just been turned in? Guy cleaning cars was working real hard in heat.Reviewed 26 Jun 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
No worries!Pros:What you pay for is what you get. I was worried that at the end of my trip they were going to charge extra on miles or come up with something but not at all. Picked up the car with no problems and dropped off took 5 minutes. Will definitely use again!Reviewed 10 May 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Cancelled the reservation because u charge .25 each mile over 1,050. Went to hertz, no extra chargeReviewed 8 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Return experienceCons:I didn't like the time it took to rerurn the car. It was too longReviewed 20 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:the car was great, it was like drive something from outerspace. It was a great car.Reviewed 12 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Issues with the first car. upon return of the second car, Avis is trying to charge over 2 times the original rate.Reviewed 10 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Cons:Unhappy with the excessive fees and taxes associated with airport rentals.Reviewed 29 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Long, long wait and smoke-smelling car!Cons:- Long wait at counter and only 2 agents helping people - If you don't bring back the gas receipt, Avis will charge you for an entire tank of gas, even if you filled up the tank!!! - Car reeked of cigarette smokeReviewed 2 Jul 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Minneapolis?

Address

229 South 10th Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 612 332 6322

Address

7150 Humphrey Drive

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday00:00 - 01:0005:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Thursday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Friday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday07:00 - 18:0000:00 - 01:00
Sunday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 612 727 1424

Address

3355 Hiawatha Avenue South

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday07:30 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 17:00
Friday07:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 612 729 0074

Address

601 North 1st Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 13:00
Friday08:00 - 13:00
Saturday08:30 - 12:30
Sunday08:30 - 12:30

Phone

+1 612 332 6322

Good to know

Most popular location

3355 Hiawatha Avenue South

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Minneapolis

  • It is important to think very carefully about what type of car you want for a trip to Minneapolis when you book Avis car rentals in Minneapolis. A compact or midsize car might be suitable if you plan to navigate the city streets and park easily. For those traveling with a group or needing more space for luggage, a sedan, or SUV could offer added comfort. Consider factors such as fuel efficiency, the number of passengers, and any desired features like GPS navigation or additional safety measures when choosing the ideal rental car for your visit to Minneapolis.
  • The Avis Preferred loyalty program provides numerous advantages for individuals who book Avis car rentals in Minneapolis. Members enjoy access to a preferred service counter, minimizing wait times and ensuring priority service, especially during peak travel periods. Avis Preferred members accumulate points for each qualifying rental, which can be redeemed for complimentary rental days, fostering increased loyalty to Avis.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Minneapolis, you must familiarize yourself with their cancellation policy. In the event of a cancellation, the refund is typically processed within seven business days and credited to the original card used for prepayment. Remember that a processing fee is applied if canceling a prepaid reservation before the scheduled rental date. Furthermore, if you return the vehicle early, there is no refund for the unused portion of the payment.
  • You are generally allowed to drive an Avis rental car from Minneapolis into Canada, but there are important considerations and restrictions that you should be aware of. Cross-border travel with a rental car often involves additional fees, restrictions, and requirements. It's crucial to check with the specific Avis location where you plan to rent the car for the most accurate and up-to-date information.
  • Compact car hire from Avis in Minneapolis are around 59% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Minneapolis

  • Where are some spots I can pick up at Avis rental in Minneapolis?

    You have two great locations to get your Avis rental when you are right in the heart of Minneapolis. The locations in the heart of the downtown area are 601 North 1St Avenue and 229 South 10Th Street. If you happen to be a little southeast of the town center in the Longfellow neighborhood, you can pick up your rental at 3355 Hiawatha Avenue South.

  • What are some of the benefits that Avis offers customers in Minneapolis?

    Avis provides GPS navigation devices to assist you in navigating unfamiliar areas seamlessly. Avis offers child car seats tailored to different age groups for travelers with young passengers, prioritizing safety and comfort. Additionally, Avis typically provides various fuel service choices, allowing you to prepay for a full tank or return the car without refueling, offering flexibility to suit your preferences.

  • Where should I go to park my rental car in Minneapolis?

    The urban area is segmented into multiple on-street zones, each featuring different rates and duration allowances. The maximum permitted stay can fluctuate between 2 and 10 hours, and the parking meter rates span from $0.25 to $2.75 per hour. Metered parking is enforced during certain hours, typically from 8 am to 6 pm, Monday to Saturday, and when not enforced, parking is free. There are several public parking lots and garages throughout the city. Prices can vary; some offer hourly rates, while others may provide daily rates. Popular areas like downtown Minneapolis and near major attractions usually have parking facilities with costs of around $2.50 to $12 per hour of parking. If you're going to spend some time using public transportation to explore Minneapolis, you can park your car in designated lots at stations and use various public transit methods to explore the city.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Minneapolis?

    Compact (Nissan Rogue or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Minneapolis.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Minneapolis?

    Avis has 4 hire locations in Minneapolis. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Minneapolis St Paul airport (MSP)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Minneapolis St Paul airport (MSP)?

    Yes