Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Buffalo

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 27/6
Thu 4/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Buffalo

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People carrier
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Buffalo

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.4 OkayBased on 39 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
6.6
Overall
6.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
2
2
1
1
0
13
2.0
👎🏻👎🏻Reviewed 16 Feb 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
The line was too big, two people to manage over 100 people, wait was so long that after 2 hours in the line I cancel My reservationReviewed 11 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:YesReviewed 12 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Good costumers serviceCons:Nice carReviewed 15 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:the staff at buffalo airport were very helpful.Cons:the car i got was smelly, the volume button didn’t work, the windshield wipers were not very effective. the cost for a one way drop off was extreme.Reviewed 16 Feb 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Representative was friendlyReviewed 24 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The staff at Buffalo changed my rate on an upgrade instead of just an additional $10. I was very pleased with the drop off for the manager was able to correct the mistake that was done.Cons:The whole process of dropping off at a different location was good but please pay attention to the pickup location. Make sure you are getting what was quoted to you and save the email with your confirmation information. I questioned it before I left, but it wasn’t corrected but thankfully it was on the other end.Reviewed 13 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
6.8
Dirty carPros:The car itself was a hybrid, so very economical. It was a nice drive also and had Apple CarPlay.Cons:The car I was given was switched at the last minute between the desk and the pick-up kiosk. This particular car looked like a family of 4 had a food fight in it, and it reaked of deodorizer and cigarette smoke. The stains were kind of embarrassing, but I didn’t have time to deal with the hassle of calling and swapping it out.Reviewed 26 Dec 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
AwesomePros:Great service. Great car. Fast and efficient. I forgot a very important item on the rental and they kept it safe for me.Reviewed 19 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.8
booking with avis is complexPros:nothing i like about them.Cons:rude customer service, creates unnecessary problems.Reviewed 21 Mar 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Not muchCons:The agent at the d so justified the fact that there was no windshield wiper fluid by stating that the fluid was frozen.Reviewed 8 Jan 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Buffalo to niagaraPros:The staff at pickup was really nice.Cons:The car was huge compared to what I normally drive. Tthey did not have a compact car so we were given a Ford Flex. I was very uncomfortable driving it.Reviewed 26 Sep 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Buffalo?

Address

4200 Genesee Street

Hours

Monday00:00 - 01:0006:30 - 23:59
Tuesday06:30 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Wednesday00:00 - 01:0006:30 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 01:0006:30 - 23:59
Friday06:30 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday06:30 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Sunday06:30 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00

Phone

+1 716 632 1808

Address

1477 Main St

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 716 632 4663

Good to know

Most popular location

4200 Genesee Street

Most popular car type

Supplier choice

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Buffalo

  • You can find Avis car rentals in Buffalo to suit any travel need or preference. If you're traveling solo or with a couple of people, an economy car is ideal for city exploration. For larger groups, consider a van rental with options for 12-15 passengers or 7-8 seat minivans. Adventurers and those planning to explore rougher terrain may opt for an SUV. If it's a business trip, a luxury car, or a sedan from the luxury car selection is a great choice. During warmer months, a convertible like the Ford Mustang is perfect for enjoying the weather.
  • Avis offers one-way rentals, allowing you to customize your journey with flexibility. Benefit from the ease, cost savings, and unlimited mileage that make one-way trips seamless. With numerous Avis locations across the US, planning an interstate road trip becomes a breeze. Most Avis vehicles come with unlimited mileage, and many branches waive one-way drop-off fees, providing an affordable alternative compared to other rental companies. Tailor your adventure with Avis and embark on your road trip hassle-free.
  • Avis' rewards program, Avis Preferred, offers perks and benefits to frequent renters. Enrolling in the program can mean a faster booking and vehicle pickup process. You will earn points for each rental, which can be redeemed for discounts, upgrades, and free rental days. Avis also frequently runs promotions and special offers exclusively for program members.
  • For added convenience at Avis, you have the choice of the Fuel Service Option. With this feature, you can prepay for a full tank of gas and simply return the car empty, eliminating the need for a pre-return fuel stop. The pricing is similar to local fuel rates. Alternatively, you can opt for Self-Service if you prefer to refuel the car yourself before bringing it back.
  • Supplier choice car hire from Avis in Buffalo are around 14% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Buffalo

  • Where are the best pickup locations for Avis car rentals in Buffalo?

    There are several Avis locations to make your pickup convenient. If you are arriving by air, the location at Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) would be the best and most convenient option. When you arrive, collect your baggage and then, head across the street to the Ground Transportation Center. This location is open seven days a week from 6:30 am to 1 am, and also allows after-hours returns to accommodate customers with late flight times. Rates at the airport tend to be higher, so if you’re budget-conscious, consider renting from the location on Main St. It is centrally located in downtown Buffalo within walking distance of the Utica train station.

  • What car rental amenities are available at Avis in Buffalo?

    Avis offers a range of convenient services and amenities. These include GPS navigation systems for easy travel, child safety seats for young passengers, and options for additional drivers to share their driving duties. Avis also provides one-way rental services, allowing you to return the vehicle to a different location. Their Avis Flex program is tailored for long-term renters, providing competitive rates, vehicle choices, and flexibility. These offerings combine to create a comfortable and hassle-free rental experience with Avis in Buffalo.

  • Where are the best places to park Avis car rentals in Buffalo?

    In Buffalo, you’ll find dedicated parking lots at most hotels, restaurants, and shops. When you are downtown, some of the best places to park include parking garages like the Ellicott-Mohawk Ramp and the Fernbach Ramp for central locations. Street parking is an option, but be mindful of time limits and meters. The Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF) offers convenient parking facilities for travelers. Additionally, explore areas near your destination, as there are various lots and garages throughout the city, often with affordable rates and easy access to attractions, restaurants, and shops.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Buffalo?

    Supplier choice (Class Special Car or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Buffalo.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Buffalo?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Buffalo. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Buffalo airport (BUF)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Buffalo airport (BUF)?

    Yes